Orlando Drinking & Driving Defense Lawyer
Government’s Case Against You
Travis Williams is a former DUI prosecutor for Orange and Osceola Counties. He is aware of and knowledgeable of the methods the State will use to try to convict you.
DUI laws are found under Florida Statute 316.193. There are two ways a prosecutor can prove that you were drinking and driving. They can show that your breath or blood alcohol level exceeded the legal limit or they can show that you were impaired. We can help you with the following:
- Defenses to a DUI
- Challenging the traffic stop
- Challenging the breath test
- Challenging the field sobriety test
- Challenging the refusal to take the breath test
- Challenging the officer’s investigation
First Time Charged
We may be able to help you get the charges dropped even if the State has a strong case against you. You may be eligible for a pre-trial diversion program in which your charges could ultimately be dropped.
Second, Third, Felony DUI and DUI Vehicular Manslaughter
If you are charged with a second DUI and the first DUI was not within five (5) years of the second DUI, there will not be any mandatory jail, however there is a mandatory driver’s license revocation of 180 days up to one year if convicted. However, the Prosecutor may try to impose jail. We can help defend against this happening.
If you are charged with a second DUI within five (5) years of the first DUI, there is a mandatory 10 days in jail and a five (5) year revocation of your driver’s license if you are convicted. If you are charged with a third DUI within ten (10) years of the first DUI, there is a mandatory thirty (30) days in jail and a ten (10) year revocation of your driver’s license if you are convicted. If the third DUI is not within ten (10) years of the first DUI, there is no mandatory jail, however, the Prosecutor may try to impose jail if convicted. Also, if you are charged with a third DUI, the Prosecutor can charge you with a third degree felony, which carries a maximum of five (5) years in prison.
If you kill someone while you are DUI, you may be charged with DUI Vehicular Manslaughter, which is a second degree felony and carries a maximum penalty of fifteen (15) years in prison if convicted. This charge can be enhanced to a first degree felony if the DUI driver willfully leaves the scene of the crime. DUI’s are serious crimes, which can significantly affect an individual’s life and driving privileges. At The Law Office of Travis Williams, we understand the criminal and civil implications of a DUI, especially when someone else is injured or dies as a result.
Formal Review Hearing at DHSMV
Most of the time a DUI arrest results in a driver’s license suspension through the DHSMV. We can help you contest that suspension and try to get your license back. When you are arrested for DUI, DHSMV can suspend your license for one year for refusing to submit to the breath test or 180 days for a breath-alcohol level over .08. You have the right to contest your suspension by applying for a formal review hearing within 10 days of arrest. Also, under a law passed in July 2013 under Florida Statute 322.271(7), you may be able to get a hardship/business license during your suspension period. Contact us to discuss the criteria and qualifications to get a hardship/business license.
Contact Us Day or Night
We have represented clients charged with a DUI in Orange, Seminole, Osceola, Polk, Brevard, Lake and Volusia County. Call or contact our Orlando Florida DUI defense law firm for a free consultation. We accept MasterCard, Visa, and American Express and offer payment plans.
Free attorney consultation
The outcome of your case is important to us. For a free consultation about your DUI case, contact The Law Office of Travis Williams in Orlando, Florida. All criminal defense cases are handled by the firm’s owner, Travis Williams. Call 407-425-4755.